

The Seventh Annual Parliament and Internet Conference

 25^{th} October 2012

Programme

09.00 - 09.20	Registration and Coffee	
09.20 - 09.30	Welcome and	John Robertson MP, Chair, apComms;
	Introduction	Chi Onwurah MP and Stephen Mosley MP, Co-Chairs, PICTFOR
09.30 – 10.00	Keynote Speech	Chloe Smith MP, Parliamentary Secretary for the Cabinet Office with responsibility for Cyber Security
		Chair: Stephen Mosley MP, Co-Chair, PICTFOR
10.00 – 10.50	Cyber Security: Public and Private Challenges	In association with Nominet Simon McCalla, CTO, Nominet
		 Andy Smith, PSTSA Security Manager, Cabinet Office
		Martin Hewitt, Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Met Police
		Christian Rogan, Security Specialist, TrendMicro
		Chair: The Earl of Erroll, Chairman of the Digital Policy Alliance
10.50 - 11.10	Coffee	
11.10 - 12.00	Concepts of acceptable behaviour to protect and	 UK-Internet Governance Forum (UKIGF) – Attlee Suite Jamie Saunders, Director Cyber Policy, Foreign and Commonwealth Office
	enhance trust – The road to Korea	 Dixie Hawtin, Project Manager for Digital Communications and Freedom of Expression, Global Partners & Associates
		Lesley Cowley OBE, CEO, Nominet
		Chair: Chi Onwurah MP, Shadow Minister for Business, Innovation and Skills and PICTFOR Co-Chair
	The Defamation Bill – A good deal for claimants, intermediaries and freedom of speech, or just an extra burden on business?	 Internet Services Providers' Association (ISPA) – Room Q Lord Lester of Herne Hill QC, Liberal Democrat Peer, Defamation Expert Dr Evan Harris, Co-Founder, Libel Reform Campaign Monica Bhogal, Solicitor, Berrymans Lace Mawer Emma Ascroft, Director, Public Policy, Yahoo! Europe Chair: Mark Gracey, Regulatory Manager, Cable & Wireless Worldwide and Chair of ISPA
	Demand for superfast broadband in the UK:	 Broadband Stakeholder Group (BSG) – Room U Pamela Learmonth, CEO, Broadband Stakeholder Group
	How are we faring on the	 Matt Rogerson, Head of Policy and Public Affairs, Virgin Media
	international stage?	 Julian Ashworth, Director of Group Industry Policy, BT
		Dan Perlet, Head of Corporate and Financial Affairs, Everything Everywhere
		Chair: Nigel Adams MP, Vice-Chair, PICTFOR
12.00 - 12.15	Feedback reports from morning sessions	John Robertson MP, Chair, apComms
12.15 – 12.45	Keynote Speech: The priorities of the European Commission on the digital economy and the digital single market	 Miguel Gonzalez-Sancho, Deputy Head of Unit, Directorate-General for Communication Networks, Content and Technology, Vice-President of the European Commission Neelie Kroes Chair: John Robertson MP, Chair, apComms
12.45 - 13.35	Networking Lunch	

13.40 - 14.10	Keynote Speech	Hon Ed Vaizey MP, Minister for Culture, Communications and Creative Industries
		 Chair: Chi Onwurah MP, Shadow Minister for Business, Innovation and Skill and PICTFOR Co-Chair
14.10 - 15.00	The ICT Legacy of the	Parliamentary ICT Forum (PICTFOR) – Room Q
	Internet Olympics	Gerry Pennell, CIO, LOCOG
		Gary Symes, London 2012 Service Director, BT
		 Andrew Jacques, GM, Good Technology UK
		 Stuart Revell, Managing Director, RTA Communication Systems Ltd, and IC Knowledge Transfer Network
		Chair: Chi Onwurah MP, Shadow Minister for Business, Innovation and Skil and PICTFOR Co-Chair
	A role for the UK in the global "Internet of Things" revolution?	 The Digital Policy Alliance (EURIM) – Attlee Suite Gary Atkinson, Director Embedded Marketing, ARM
		Steve Lewis, CEO, Living Plan IT
		Marc Hobell, Head of Public Sector & Utilities, Ordnance Survey
		Peter Drake, OSSSE
		Nick Pickles, Director, Big Brother Watch
		• <i>Chair:</i> Dr Julian Huppert MP, Vice-Chair, PICTFOR
	New Technology, New Opportunities – But Same Old Problem? Charting a path for voice applications on 4G networks	The Internet Telephony Services Providers' Association (ITSPA) – Room U
		 Jon Beardmore, ITSPA Council Member, Retail general manager of strategi products, BT
		 Priya Sahathevan, Regulatory Counsel, Everything Everywhere
		 Steve Unger, Group Director, Strategy, Chief Economist & Technology, Ofcom
		Pamela Learmonth, CEO, Broadband Stakeholder Group
		Chair: Alun Cairns MP, PICTFOR
15.00 - 15.15	Feedback reports from morning sessions	Stephen Mosley MP, Co-Chair, PICTFOR
15.15 – 15.40	Keynote Speech	Tom Scott, Technologist and Futurist
		Chair: Stephen Mosley MP, Co-Chair, PICTFOR
15.40 – 16.20	Next Gen Growth – Skills,	Marketa Mach, CEO, Go ON UK
	Innovation and	Simon Milner, Director of Policy, UK and Ireland, Facebook
	Entrepreneurship in ICT	James Macgowen, Strategy Director, Tomorrow's People
		Chris Yiu, Head of the Digital Government Unit, Policy Exchange
		Michelle Thorne, Global Event Strategist, Mozilla
16.20 - 17.00	Drinks Reception	Chair: Lesley Cowley OBE, CEO, Nominet Lesley Cowley OBE, CEO, Nominet
10.70 = 17.00	Drinks Neception	Lesicy Cowley ODL, CLO, Noninet
10.20 17.00		Chi Onwurah MP and Stephen Mosley MP, Co-Chairs, PICTFOR

Participating Organisations:











