ISPA announced the winners of the 17th Annual UK Internet Industry Awards, the ISPAs. Eighteen awards were given out on the night with dozens of innovative providers and organisations present at the ceremony in the City of London.

David Davis MP and Tom Watson MP were jointly named as Internet Hero for their legal action against DRIPA, seeing off competition from the Interception of Communications Commissioner, Privacy International and GreenNet and Independent Reviewer of Terrorism Legislation. David Anderson QC. Surveillance has dominated both the Hero and Villain shortlists for number of years, and it was felt Davis and Watson were some of the best informed politicians on the subject.

Home Secretary Rt Hon. Theresa May MP won Internet Villain for forging ahead with communications data legislation without fully consulting industry. With an Investigatory Powers Bill due before parliament in the coming months, it is essential that ISPs are consulted. Privacy International picked up the award on the Home Secretary’s behalf.

A special 20th Anniversary Award was also given to John Souter, CEO of LINX, for his service to the Internet industry. LINX (The London Internet Exchange) is fundamental to the UK Internet industry by allowing providers of all sizes to peer and exchange Internet traffic for the past 21 years, providing a cost effective platform for ISPs.

Fibre broadband ISP Hyperoptic were the biggest winners of the night with three trophies, including winning Best Superfast Broadband for the third year in a row. Hosting provider catalyst2 won two awards, including winning the Customer Choice award for the third year in a row, the only category purely decided by customer ratings.

ISPA Secretary General Nick Lansman said “Congratulations to all the winners. With ISPA celebrating its 20th Anniversary, the ISPAs show the continued strength and diversity of the UK Internet industry as the UK economy moves ever more online. The Hero and Villain Awards also show that industry needs to be included in the surveillance debate”.

The keynote was given by Mikko Hyppönen, Chief Research Officer at F-Secure and a leading advocate for digital rights, and comic Ian Moore compered the night.

For details of the winners see below and for more information and photos go to or our twitter @ISPAUK.


The 2015 ISPAs winners

 Internet Hero sponsored by F-Secure winner: David Davis & Tom Watson MP

For their legal challenge to guarantee the privacy of their constituents and their efforts to raise the level of debate in Parliament on communications data issues.

Internet Villain winner: Home Secretary, Rt. Hon. Theresa May MP

For forging ahead with communications data legislation that would significantly increase capabilities without adequate consultation with industry and civil society.

 20th Anniversary Award winner: John Souter, CEO of LINX

John has led LINX with distinction, and ISPA Council felt that the fundamental role LINX plays in making the UK Internet work deserved recognition.

Best Superfast Broadband winner: Hyperoptic

Hyperoptic were clear winners, with impressive scoring and growth across the UK.

Best Consumer Fixed Broadband winner: Hyperoptic

The judges were impressed with Hyperoptic’s consumer offering and unique features, such as offering free

wi-fi in communal areas.

Best SME Broadband winner: Entanet

Entanet have a whole variety of packages and options for the whole channel and end user SMEs.

 Best Enterprise Broadband: Bridge Fibre

Bridge Fibre has true enterprise ready fibre broadband, with flexible contracts and impressive scalability.

 Best Wireless winner: Keycom

The judges noted the excellent speeds and performance from Keycom and were impressed with how they served their different customer bases.

 Customer Choice winner: catalyst2

Catalsyst2 have customers that are real advocates for the brand, with some impressive testimonials and customer ratings.

Best Shared Hosting winner: Heart Internet

The sheer range of applications, impressive reliability and technical support at a good price saw Heart Internet win.

Best Dedicated Hosting winner: Memset

The judges were impressed at how Memset offer hassle free, high quality hosting, with a strong UK base and sustainability at its core.

Best VoIP sponsored by Magrathea winner:  Voipfone

The judges appreciated Voipfone’s investments in R&D, forward thinking business practices and commitment to small UK businesses.

Best Consumer Customer Service winner: ASK4

The case study put forward by ASK4 offered the best mix of what makes great customer service, with the judge’s particularly impressed with how they offer support in 12 languages.

Best Business Customer Service sponsored by Halon winner: catalyst2

The way Catalyst2 have consistently provided great customer service, improved their NPS scores during an impressive period of growth stature made them worthy winners.

Safety Award winner: eCadets

eCadets new peer-to-peer approach to online safety is an innovative and smart way to empower and educate children on keeping safe online.

 Security Award winner: F-Secure

The flexibility, portability and range of F-Secure products makes them an excellent choice for ISPs and their customers.

Best Business Use of Cloud winner: Storm Internet

Storm Internet case showed exactly how businesses can rely on their cloud provider, with IPv6 support and additional RIPE addresses getting the judge’s attention.

Best Use of Digital sponsored by Tagadab winner: Hyperoptic

The judges noted the sheer range of digital methods used by Hyperoptic to engage current and future customers.

About the ISPA Awards

The 2015 ISPA Awards are the annual internet industry awards and the 2015 ISPAs are set to take place on the 2nd July 2015 at The Brewery in the City of London. There are over forty firms shortlisted across seventeen categories and the full shortlist can be seen here.

Axians Networks are sponsoring the Best Superfast Broadband Award and F-Secure sponsor Internet Hero. Best Business Customer Service Award is sponsored by Halon, the Best VoIP Award is sponsored by Magrathea and the Best Use of Digital is sponsored by Tagadab.