2019 ISPA Award Winners

Business ISP

sponsored by

Hyperoptic - The judges felt that by maintaining good reliability, excellent customer service and affordability whilst scaling up in size made Hyperoptic deserved winners.

Consumer ISP

sponsored by

KCOM – In a tight contest, KCOM was singled out for their commitment to consumers through their specialist in-home problem solving team and AirScout WiFi testing kits at installation.


EXA – In an extremely close category, the judges singled out Exa for their work through the Exa Foundation and The Ahead Partnership to help schools, businesses and the community to develop technical skills amongst young people and set them up for the future.


Wifinity – In recognition of the particularly strong competition for this award, the judges decided to award a commendation to Wifinity for their excellent work in partnership with the YMCA.

Infrastructure Provider

sponsored by

Openreach – A closely fought contest saw Openreach coming out on top, praised by judges for their innovative delivery methods to drive infrastructure development at scale.


CityFibre – In a hotly contested category, the Judges also decided to Commend CityFibre.

Customer Solution

sponsored by

BT – The judges agreed that BT’s success in scaling an easy to use solution to a wider marketplace made them worthy winners.

Best Hosting

Storm Internet – After a commendation in 2018, the judges felt that this year, Storm Internet pipped the competition. They were particularly impressed with their identification of potential risks for customers and targeting investment internally to address these.

Customer Service

sponsored by

Hyperoptic – The judges were impressed with Hyperoptic’s customer-first culture, borne out in their impressive feedback scores, and seen in initiatives like their rapid-response hyper-biker.

Cyber security

sponsored by

RM Education – RM Education’s tailored solutions and high retention rates, along with their commitment to the challenging environment of schools convinced the judges they were deserved winners.


sponsored by

Voipfone – In a closely fought contest, Voipfone took the prize for their drive for innovation through R&D, and their flexible, ‘pick and mix’ contracts.

Executive of the year

Jenny Davies – M247: In a year where female nominees vastly outnumbered their male counterparts, Jenny Davies shone through for successfully overseeing a three-way merger and driving the digital agenda, whilst maintaining a thoroughly flexible and inclusive working culture at M247.

Rural ISP

Truespeed – The judges agreed that Truespeed’s commitment to local community hubs and focus on hard to reach areas made them stand out above the other entrants.

PR Campaign

sponsored by 

IWF – The judges praised IWF’s call to action, targeting a hard to reach demographic in a very difficult campaign subject which made good use of social media.

Internet Hero

sponsored by

Andrew Ferguson, Editor of thinkbroadband

Commendation:  Oscar Tapp-Scotting & Paul Blaker, Global Internet Governance Team, DCMS