15 categories for the 15th ISPA Awards - new Superfast & Wireless Awards

3rd December 2012 – The ISPA Awards will be 15 years old in 2013 and to celebrate this, two new categories have been unveiled to reflect the latest developments within industry.

The Best Superfast Broadband category is designed for leading-edge providers who offer 30Mbps or more. With more and more providers bringing forward innovative, superfast services to the market, and next generation services likely to transform the way we communicate, work and do business, the award will recognise and celebrate the achievements of this vitally important development.

The Best Fixed Wireless Broadband category will showcase the various forms of wireless connectivity which add to the variety of services customers can use to get online.

Entries can be submitted online to http://ispa.thinkbroadband.com/ with further information at http://www.ispa.org.uk/ispa-awards/ from today until 25th January 2013 across 15 categories, listed below. The winners will be announced in a ceremony at the Park Lane Sheraton in Central London on 11th July 2013, with over 300 attendees representing the full breadth of the UK internet industry.

Six categories undergo three months of testing by ISPA Awards technical partners, thinkbroadband the leading broadband information advice site, while Malden Electronics tests the Internet Telephony category which is sponsored by Magrathea.  The ISPAs are a recognised kite mark in the industry, and considered a badge of quality to customers.

As part of the judging process, all entrants have to submit a written entry form which will be scrutinised alongside the results of the testing by the ISPA Awards judges, an independent panel of industry experts.  Entering the awards is free and companies don’t have to be ISPA members to do so. Entrants can also enter in multiple categories.

Nicholas Lansman, ISPA Secretary General, said ”since the first awards in 1999, the internet has changed beyond recognition and our new categories reflect how The ISPAs have been at the forefront of this ever changing industry. ISPA has been the voice of the internet industry since the first days of dial-up, and the 15th awards allow us to celebrate the latest technological achievements”.

Magrathea is sponsor of the Best Internet Telephony Award with many other sponsorship opportunities available on this milestone year. For more information on sponsorship please contact awards@ispa.org.uk.


List of categories:


  • Best Business Customer Service
  • Best Business Fixed Broadband
  • Best Consumer Customer Service
  • Best Consumer Fixed Broadband
  • Best Fixed Wireless
  • Best Internet Telephony
  • Best Large Business Hosting
  • Best SME Business Hosting
  • Best Superfast Broadband
  • Customer Choice Award
  • Digital Inclusion
  • Internet Hero
  • Internet Safety & Security
  • Internet Villain
  • Managed Service Innovation




Notes to the editor:


The Internet Services Providers’ Association (ISPA) was established in 1995 as a trade association to represent providers of Internet services in the UK. ISPA promotes competition, self-regulation and the development of the Internet industry. For a list of members or other information about ISPA, please consult the website:


The views expressed in this release are those of the Internet Services Providers’ Association (ISPA) and do not necessarily reflect the corporate policies of the individual companies that are members of the Association or other organisations that may be mentioned in the release. For further editorial information please contact the ISPA Press Office (020 3397 3308).


About The ISPA Awards:


The ISPAs - the UK Internet industry awards - are unique as they are awarded to people and organisations in the industry by their peers and reflect the broad nature of the service provider sector.

The Internet Services Providers' Association (ISPA UK) has been organising the UK Internet Industry Awards since 1999 to herald the best of the Internet industry and to celebrate innovation and best practice. In 2002 the awards were dubbed The ISPAs.