Two new categories, Best New ISP and the Customer Choice Award, have been unveiled for the 14th annual ISPA Awards, which opens for registration today. Best New ISP is open to internet access providers that have entered the market in or after July 2010 and the Customer Choice Award is open to ISPs that offer access to consumers.

Companies have until the 27th January to register for one or more of the 13 categories and do not have to be an ISPA member to enter. Entry is free and winners will be presented on the 3rd July at an award ceremony hosted at the Sheraton Park Lane Hotel in London.

The Customer Choice category will be chosen by customers of ISPs that enter and they will be able to rate their ISP after registration closes in January. The public will have the opportunity to make their suggestions for their Internet Hero and Villain with the subsequent winner chosen by the ISPA Council.

Four categories undergo three months of testing by ISPA Awards partner’s thinkbroadband while Malden Electronics tests the Internet Telephony category which is sponsored by Magrathea.

As part of the judging process, all entrants have to submit a written entry form which will be scrutinised alongside the results of the testing by the ISPA Awards judges, an independent panel of industry experts.

To register please select the categories you wish to enter here.

Nicholas Lansman, ISPA Secretary General, said, ”As the voice of the internet industry for the last 15 years, ISPA has seen the industry develop and grow and since 1999 we have hosted the ISPA Awards to mirror that success. 2012 will be the 14th annual awards and, as in previous years, we expect to see that the innovation and passion for providing quality services is as strong as ever.”

Magrathea is sponsor of the Best Internet Telephony Award, Be Wholesale is sponsor of the Best Business Fixed Broadband Award and CISAS is sponsoring the Best Consumer Customer Service Award. For more information on sponsoring please contact

List of categories:

Best SME Business Hosting
Best Large Business Hosting
Best Internet Telephony – Sponsored by Magrathea
Best Consumer Fixed Broadband
Best Business Fixed Broadband – Sponsored by BE Wholesale
Best Mobile Broadband
Best Consumer Customer Service – Sponsored by CISAS
Best Business Customer Service
Digital Inclusion in association with Race Online 2012
Internet Safety & Security
Managed Service Award
Customer Choice Award
Best New ISP
Internet Hero
Internet Villain


Notes to the editor:

The Internet Services Providers’ Association (ISPA) was established in 1995 as a trade association to represent providers of Internet services in the UK. ISPA promotes competition, self-regulation and the development of the Internet industry. For a list of members or other information about ISPA, please consult the website:

The views expressed in this release are those of the Internet Services Providers’ Association (ISPA) and do not necessarily reflect the corporate policies of the individual companies that are members of the Association or other organisations that may be mentioned in the release. For further editorial information please contact the ISPA Press Office (020 7340 8741).

About The ISPA Awards:

The ISPAs - the UK Internet industry awards - are unique as they are awarded to people and organisations in the industry by their peers and reflect the broad nature of the service provider sector.

The Internet Services Providers' Association (ISPA UK) has been organising the UK Internet Industry Awards since 1999 to herald the best of the Internet industry and to celebrate innovation and best practice. In 2002 the awards were dubbed The ISPAs.